Southern Mrs Fit

Change

1 Comment

Change wigs me the heck out. Change gets my panties in a bunch. I know that change is inevitable, inescapable, and unpredictable. Change is death. Change is the birth of something new. Change is waving goodbye and saying hello. Everything on our wonderfully created planet goes through change. Change can be instant. Change can take a bit. Change is growth. Change is HARD, sometimes real hard. Change is a disruption in routine. 

Change is losing weight, gaining weight, squatting til’ you get a J-Lo bootayy, getting a new job, bringing home a bundle of sleepless but totally worth it nights, getting married, breaking up, a friendship, going to college, being an empty nester,or getting a terrible haircut and having to rock a mullet the first week of middle school. Yup, that happened.

I’ve never understood when people say “this person will never change” or “people don’t change”, but yet that same person will talk about how much they, themselves, have.. wait for it…. changed. I mean who, honestly, wants to stay in a stagnant state of sameness. 

A couple things I’ve learned that may help you:

Just like the 12 steppers have taught us, ACCEPT it. That doesn’t mean that you are supposed to be emotionless, it’s the opposite, it’s taking time to mourn and acknowledge what used to be and where you are in the present NOW.. Whether its was a friendship that has grown apart, you lost 150 pounds, said some pretty thoughtless things to someone you love, lied, or tried on every pair of pants and none of them come close to zipping (even with spanks and laying on the bed),  we make decisions some smart and some that deserve a real swift kick in the butt. 

Quit making excuses for your baggage. We’ve all changed, we’ve all been hurt by change, and healed by change. Not a thing on this earth is immune to it. If you use second rate excuses and familiar words to describe yourself you’ve got avoidance issues and haven’t accepted it… and now is probably a good time to go read the previous paragraph a couple more times… 

That old friend that things just kind of fell apart with, don’t James Bond it to the next aisle in the grocery store and hope she doesn’t see you, speak, love on her, and then go your separate ways. You lost a ton of weight…Appreciate all the blood, sweat, and tears along the way. But, you found the weight-turn your “I’m so fat” to “I’m going to make smarter decisions today, but dang I still look good”. Spoken words bring things to life… So speak easy. You snapped at your mom and said something you shouldn’t have, then start with these 3 magic words “I’m sorry for….” 

There is no time machine (HELLO 2002 and gawd awful mullet) we can’t go back and we can’t stay the same 18 year old Summer, thank God cause she wasn’t who I want to be. Life takes us on a magical journey that gives us the choice to change, experiences to change us without realizing it until later, and sometimes forces us to change immediately. It’s okay to just throw your hands up and say I don’t know what the heck I’m doing and I’m going to start fully trusting in The Great I Am to take care of me. 

I encourage you to think about how amazing you are tonight. Not how I used to inhale all the brownie batter and wasted pre-heating the oven, or I used to could fit into a size 0, or how I could cut someone with my tongue, or how I could run a mile without stopping, or how I cheated on my 10th grade history test… Embrace you in your YOU RIGHT NOW and stop with the self sabotage and think about how smart you are, how you can walk into a room and make everyone laugh, how you’re kind.. How you are all these things no matter the size of shirt you wear, what the scale says, what people say about the you they USED to know, all the things that money can’t buy.. Those, those are things we should aim to change, change to be more like our Father. 

 

Food for thought, 

Image

One thought on “Change

Leave a Reply

