Southern Mrs Fit

Mrs. Fit of the Month: Personal Trainer Darlena Reas

Leave a comment

I’m beyond excited to kick off a new  series on SMF. Each month we will introduce one gal who is a real deal Ms.Fit… She’s a walking example of living a faith–filled, healthy, and balanced life.

I couldn’t think of a  better way to start than with my sistah D! This lady isn’t just a pretty face, she’s got the sweetest spirit. She genuinely cares about people and wants people to be the best they can be, but has a heart of a lion- SO WATCH OUT!  Okay, I’m gonna shush it and let her take it away..

image

Introduce yourself. I am a Personal Trainer and owner of REASFIT. I have a passion to see people of all ages and types become the healthiest they can be from the inside out. This includes diet, exercise, confidence, inner beauty, and strength both in and out of the gym. I love my clients as if they are family and pray for them as I would a friend, before they even come to me. I am blessed with two beautiful daughters and a husband who works hard to provide for his family. I give praise to my personal Savior, Jesus Christ, who has given me the strength to do all things. I will be competing in my first figure competition in November 2013 and I pray this will be the start of long and successful competition career. I would also like to do powerlifting meets in 2014. I am excited to see what the future holds!

I love that you don’t have a one size fits all approach with your clients. What’s your favorite go to food? Any type of nut or seed butters!!! But during prep, I have had to limit them so my go to has been whole natural almonds. I have found myself loving mustard more and more, so I’ll toss the almonds over some spinach or kale and cover all of it with a horseradish mustard!

What’s your motivation to stay in shape? I have so many motivations. It started because I thought training was fun! I used to go in the gym with the attitude “what can my body do today?” There is nothing like walking out of the gym thinking, “did I REALLY just do that?!” Now I stay in shape for this competition and will continue to focus on fitness and health because I desire others to do the same.

 image

Favorite workout? favorite body part to work? …shoulders for sure. my all time favorite exercise is the traditional deadlift. someone once told me “ripping iron out of the ground is medicinal” …they were right!

What advice do you have for women looking to improve their health? Start small. more water, run an extra mile, push yourself a little harder than you did yesterday. say no to dessert. nothing has to be done overnight. this is a journey, not an overnight sensation. everyone starts somewhere. make new goals for yourself daily and pretty soon all of those small changes lead to big victories.

UPDATE: SHE PLACED 3rd in OPEN CLASS and 2nd in her division! Heck yeah.

photo

Her face says its all! 🙂

 Follow her on instagram! {She offers affordable and tailored to you programs!}

signature

If you or someone you know would make a great Ms. Fit shoot me an email!

Leave a Reply

